Agentless Assessment Requirements for Azure

The following requirements must be met for performing Agentless Assessment:

Azure Service Principal Role

This is a prerequisite before setting up Agentless Assessment. Agentless Assessments requires a role that grants Tenable Cloud Security permissions to read data from Azure virtual machine snapshots.

The following permissions are required for a vulnerability scan of Azure VMs:

  • Reader

  • Disk Snapshot Contributor

Follow the instructions on the Create an Azure Service Principal Role page to create a role for Tenable Cloud Security.

Azure Snapshots

Agentless assessment for Azure is based on snapshots of your virtual machines. To configure an Agentless Assessment, you must first create a snapshot. For more information, see Create an Azure Virtual Machine Snapshot.

Supported Operating Systems for Azure

  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL)

  • SUSE Linux Enterprise Server (SLES) 11.4 to 15.2

  • Ubuntu

  • Debian

Supported File Systems

  • XFS

  • ext4

Supported Regions for Azure

  • australiacentral
  • australiacentral2
  • australiaeast
  • australiasoutheast
  • brazilsouth
  • brazilsoutheast
  • canadacentral
  • canadaeast
  • centralindia
  • centralus
  • eastus
  • eastus2
  • francecentral
  • francesouth
  • germanynorth
  • germanywestcentral
  • japaneast
  • northcentralus
  • northeurope
  • norwayeast
  • norwaywest
  • southcentralus
  • southeastasia
  • southindia
  • swedencentral
  • swedensouth
  • uksouth
  • ukwest
  • westcentralus
  • westeurope
  • westus
  • westus2
  • westus3