You are here: Reports > About Reports > Report Settings

TOC & Recently Viewed

Recently Viewed Topics

Report Settings

When you create a new report or modify an existing report, the following options are available:

Option

Description

General

Name

This text box displays the name of the report template you selected. You can edit this text box to rename the report.

Description

This text box displays a default description based on the report template you selected. You can edit this text box to modify the description of the report.

Target

This drop-down box includes the following values:

  • All Assets: The report will target all assets that you have permission to scan. If you are using an administrator account, the report will target all of your organization's assets.
  • Target Groups: The report will target a specified group of assets. When you select this option, a drop-down box appears that includes all of the groups that you have permission to access. If you are using an administrator account, all groups created by your organization will be available.
  • Custom: The report will target a comma-delimited list of IP addresses, CIDR notation, and hostnames. When you select this option, a text box appears. The list of targets must be specified in that box.

By default, a report will target all available assets.

Encrypt PDF

By default, PDFs created by a report are not encrypted. When the Encrypt PDF option is set to On, the Encryption Password box appears.

Encryption Password This text box is used to specify a password for encrypted PDFs created by the report. It is only visible when the Encrypt PDF option is set to On.

Schedule

Enabled

By default, reports are configured to be run on demand. When the Enabled option is set to On, the Frequency, Starts, and Timezone options appear. Additionally, a summary of the specified schedule appears following the other options. The summary updates as you make changes to the other options.

Frequency

A drop-down box that includes the following values:

  • Once
  • Daily
  • Weekly
  • Monthly
  • Yearly

By default, this option is set to Once.

Starts

A text box and a drop-down box used to select or type a date and time when the report will run.

Timezone

A drop-down box that used to select or type a time zone.

Permissions
User Sharing

In the User Sharing section, you specify users or groups that you want to give access to the report and its results. Users and groups appear in rows at the bottom of the section.

The following permissions can be specified:

  • No access: This user or group cannot access the report or its results in any way.
  • Can view: This user or group can see when the report is running and download the results.
  • Can control: This user or group can run the report in addition to viewing it.
  • Can configure: This user or group can configure the report in addition to running and viewing it. If a user has permission to configure a report created by someone else, the assets and groups that are available as targets will be those that the owner has access to. Because of this, groups that the configuring user does not normally have access to may appear in the Targets drop-down box.

Note: Users with administrator accounts always have full control over a report as though they owned it.

Permissions are considered using this hierarchy: Default > Group > User. Permissions that are assigned to a specific group always supersede the permissions specified for the Default group. Permissions that are assigned to a specific user always supersede the permissions specified for any group that user belongs to.

Note: Permissions are not applied retroactively. For example, if a report runs on the 15th of each month of 2017 and a user is given permission for that report on April 1 (before the report is run that month), that user will not have access to the results for January, February, and March.

By default, all reports include the following:

  • The user who created the report, set to Is owner. This value cannot be changed.
  • The Default group, which represents all of your organization's Tenable.io users. When you create the report, the Default group is set to No Access. Other users will not be able to access, run, configure, or see the results of the report.

Neither the owner of the report nor the Default group can be removed from the User Sharing section.

In the Add users or groups text box, type the name of the user or group that you want to specify a permission for. The text box searches for users and groups as you type. After you select a user or group, the name is added as a row at the bottom of the section and a drop-down box appears beside the name that you use to specify the desired permission.

For example, you create a report. The permission for the Default group is set to No access. Suppose you have a group called Risk Analysts. For your report, you set the permission for the Risk Analysts group to Can control. Mary Watson is the manager of the risk analysis team, and a member of the Risk Analysts group. For your report, you set the permission for Mary Watson to Can configure so she can modify the report for her team as necessary. The report now prevents any users beyond you (the owner) and the Risk Analyst group from interacting with the report. Team members that belong to the Risk Analysts group can run the report as needed. If for some reason the report needs to be modified, the team members can request those modifications through their manager, Mary Watson, who has permission to configure the report.

Chapters

Chapters displays the arrangement of the chapters, groups, paragraphs, and other components that appear in the results of the report. You can expand and view the arrangement. It cannot be modified.

Copyright © 2017. Tenable Network Security, Inc. All rights reserved. Tenable Network Security, Nessus, SecurityCenter Continuous View, Passive Vulnerability Scanner, and Log Correlation Engine are registered trademarks of Tenable Network Security, Inc. All other products or services are trademarks of their respective owners.