TOC & Recently Viewed

Recently Viewed Topics

Disable a User Account

Required User Role: Administrator

Disabling a user account prevents the user from logging in and prevents their scans from running. You can enable a disabled user account as described in Enable a User Account.

To disable a user account:

  1. In the upper-left corner, click the Tenable logo.

    The left navigation plane appears.

  2. In the left navigation plane, click Settings.

    The Settings page appears.

  3. Click the Users widget.

    The Users page appears. This page contains a table that lists all users for your Tenable.io instance.

  4. In the users table, roll over the user account you want to disable, and click .

    The Disable User dialog box appears and prompts you to confirm that you want to disable the selected user.

  5. To confirm, click Disable.

  6. Click Continue.

    A success message appears.

    Tenable.io disables the user account and tags it as Disabled in the users table.

Note: If the user being disabled has a session in progress, they may continue to have limited access. However, once they log out, they cannot log back in.

Copyright © 2019 Tenable, Inc. All rights reserved. Tenable, Tenable.io, Tenable Network Security, Nessus, SecurityCenter, SecurityCenter Continuous View and Log Correlation Engine are registered trademarks of Tenable, Inc.. Tenable.sc, Lumin, Assure, and the Cyber Exposure Company are trademarks of Tenable, Inc. All other products or services are trademarks of their respective owners.