Move a Node to a Cluster Group

By default, new linked nodes are assigned to the default cluster group. You can manually add a node to a different cluster group; for example, you could add nodes that are in a similar location to the same cluster group. A node can only belong to one cluster group at a time.

When you move a node that belonged to another cluster group, any agents that were linked to that node remain in their original cluster group and relink to another node in the original cluster group.

Before you begin:

  • Ensure you have added at least one child node to the cluster, as described in Link a Node.
  • If you want to move a node to a cluster group other than the default cluster group, first Create a Cluster Group.

To move a child node to a different cluster group:

  1. Log in to the Nessus Manager parent node.

  2. In the left navigation bar, click Agent Clustering.

    The Cluster Groups page appears.

  3. In the cluster groups table, click the row of the cluster group that contains the agent you want to move.

    The cluster group details page appears and displays the Cluster Nodes tab by default.

  4. In the cluster nodes table, select the check box for each node that you want to move to a different cluster group.

    Note: If there are agents assigned to the cluster group, you must leave at least one node in the cluster group.

  5. In the upper-right corner, click Move.

    The Move Node window appears.

  6. In the drop-down box, select the cluster group to which you want to move the node.

    Note: A node can only belong to one cluster group at a time. When you move a node that belonged to another cluster group, any agents that were linked to that node remain in their original cluster group and relink to another node in the original cluster group.

  7. Click Move.

    Nessus Manager moves the node to the selected cluster group.