Perform a Full Reset

Required User Role: User with administrator privileges

Performing a full reset deletes all scans, scan data, policies, users and user settings, preferences and settings, registration information, and the master password.

To see and copy the full command for your specific operating system, see the Command Quick Reference.

Usage

Before you begin:

Stop the nessusd service, as described in Start or Stop Nessus in the Nessus User Guide.

For example (Linux):

# /sbin/service nessusd stop

Full Reset

Caution: This action cannot be undone. Contact Tenable Support before performing a full reset to ensure your situation warrants a full reset.

Type the following command:

# nessuscli fix --reset-all

You are prompted to confirm the action.

To confirm, read the warning message, then enter y, as shown in the following example output:

# /sbin/service nessusd stop

# /opt/nessus/sbin/nessuscli fix --reset-all

WARNING: This option will reset Nessus to a fresh state, permanently erasing the following:

* All scans, scan data, and policies

* All users and any user settings

* All preferences and settings

* Registration information (Nessus will become unregistered)

* Master password for this Nessus installation, if there is one

Are you sure you want to proceed? (y/n) [n]: y

Command Quick Reference

For the full command for your operating system, see the following: