Delete a Scan

Required Tenable.io Vulnerability Management User Role: Scan Manager or Administrator

Required Tenable.io Web Application Scanning User Role:  Scan Operator, Standard, Scan Manager, or Administrator

Required Scan Permissions: Can Configure

When you permanently delete a scan, you delete the scan configuration and scan results for all users the scan is shared with. Only scan owners can permanently delete a scan in Tenable.io.

Note: The workflow for deleting a remediation scan differs from the workflow described in this procedure. For more information, see Delete a Remediation Scan.

Caution: After you delete a scan, you cannot recover the scan or any scan data associated with the scan. Delete only scans you are certain you no longer need to view or run.

Before you begin:

  • If the scan you want to delete is a Vulnerability Management scan, move the scan to the Trash folder.

To delete a scan:

  1. In the upper-left corner, click the Menu button.

    The left navigation plane appears.

  2. Do one of the following:

    • In the left navigation plane, in the Vulnerability Management section, click Scans.

      The Scans page appears.

    • In the left navigation plane, in the Web App Scanning section, click Scans.

      The Web Application Scanning Scans page appears.

      Note: If your Tenable.io Web Application Scanning license expires, your web application scans no longer appear in the scans table.

  3. For a Vulnerability Management scan, in the Folders section, click the Trash folder.

    The scan table updates to show the scans in the trash folder.

  4. Do one of the following:

  5. In the confirmation window, click Delete.

    Tenable.io deletes the scan or scans you selected.