Delete a Target Group

You can still use target groups to manage your scan targets. However, Tenable recommends that you instead use tags to group and scan your assets when possible. In the future, when tagging features and options match those currently available in target groups, Tenable will convert your target groups into tags and retire your existing target groups. No action is required on your part, and Tenable will provide you with 60 calendar days notice before converting and retiring your target groups. For more information, contact your Tenable representative.

System target groups:

Required User Role: Administrator

Required Target Group Permissions: Any

User target groups:

Required Tenable.io Vulnerability Management User Role: Scan Operator, Standard, Scan Manager, or Administrator

Required Target Group Permissions: Can Change

To delete a target group in the new interface:

  1. In the upper-left corner, click the Menu button.

    The left navigation plane appears.

  2. In the left navigation plane, click Settings.

    The Settings page appears.

  3. Click the Target Groups tile.

    The Target Groups page appears. By default, the System tab is active. This tab contains a table of system target groups.

  4. If you want to delete a user target group, click User. Otherwise, stay on the System target groups tab.
  5. Select the target group or groups you want to delete:

  6. In the confirmation window, click Delete.

    Tenable.io deletes the target group or groups you selected.