Delete a User Account
This topic has been modified to reflect updates to a corresponding feature in Tenable.io Key Enhancements. For more information, see Tenable.io Key Enhancements.
Required User Role: Administrator
Before you delete a user account, you must first disable the user account.
Caution: Once you delete a user account, the account cannot be recovered and the action cannot be reversed.
The following table describes what objects are migrated, retained, or permanently deleted upon user deletion:
|Audit Files in Scans||Yes||Permanently deleted|
Migrated to the new object owner
Note: Migrated scan schedules my be disabled if they rely on other permanently deleted objects, such as Audit files, Target Groups, or Unmanaged Credentials.
Historical Scan Results
|No||Migrated to the new object owner|
|Scan Templates||No||Migrated to the new object owner|
|Unmanaged Credentials in Scans||Yes||Permanently deleted|
|Custom Dashboards/Widgets||Yes||Permanently deleted|
|Managed Credentials||No||Retained (Created By value displays as null)|
|Tags||No||Retained (Created By value displays as null)|
|Recast/Accept Rules||No||Retained (Owner value displays as Unknown User)|
|System Target Groups||No||Retained|
|User Target Groups||Yes||Permanently deleted|
|Saved Searches||Yes||Permanently deleted|
To delete a user account in the new interface:
In the upper-left corner, click the button.
The left navigation plane appears.
In the left navigation plane, click Settings.
The Settings page appears.
Click the Access Control tile.
The Access Control page appears. On this page, you can control user and group access to resources in your Tenable.io account.
In the users table, in the row for the user account you want to delete, click the button.
A menu appears.
In the menu, click the button.
Note: If a user is not disabled, then the button does not appear. Disable the user before deleting them.
Note: You cannot delete the Default Administrator account. If you want to delete the Default Administrator account, you must contact Tenable Support.
The user plane appears.
- In the Select New Object Owner drop-down box, select the user to which you want to transfer any of the user's objects (e.g., scan results, user-defined scan templates).
- Click Delete.
A confirmation message appears.
- Click Delete.
Tenable.io deletes the user and transfers any user objects to the user you designated.