Delete a User

Required User Role: Administrator or organizational user with appropriate permissions. For more information, see User Roles.

If you want to migrate a user's objects, you must use a Security Manager account in the user's organization to delete the user. Other roles cannot migrate user objects.

Note: You cannot delete the first user created in any of your organizations. For more information, contact Tenable Support.

Note: If you want to delete an administrator user with linked user accounts, you must delete the linked accounts associated with the administrator before deleting the administrator, as described in Delete a Linked User Account. For more information about linked user accounts, see Linked User Accounts.

Note: If you want to delete a Tenable.sc user that was created via user provisioning, delete the user from your SAML or LDAP identity provider. If you delete a user in Tenable.sc that was created via user provisioning without deleting the user in your SAML or LDAP identity provider, Tenable.sc automatically re-creates the user in Tenable.sc the next time they log in using your SAML or LDAP identity provider. For more information, see SAML User Provisioning or LDAP User Provisioning.

To delete a user:

  1. Log in to Tenable.sc via the user interface.

  2. Click System > Users (administrator users) or Users > Users (organizational users).

    The Users page appears.

  3. In the row for the user you want to delete, click the actions menu.

    The actions menu appears.

  4. Click Delete.

    A confirmation window appears.

  5. (Optional) If you want to migrate the user's objects, click the toggle to migrate the user's objects to another user. Tenable.sc supports migrating:

    • Active scans, agent scans, and scan results
    • Custom assets, credentials, audit files, and scan policies
    • Freeze windows
    • Queries
    • Tickets and alerts
    • ARCs
    • Dashboards
    • Reports, report images, report attributes, and report results

    If you do not migrate the user's objects, Tenable.sc deletes the user's objects.

    Note: You cannot migrate objects when deleting an Administrator user because all Administrator-created objects are shared across Tenable.sc and remain accessible after user deletion.

  6. Click Delete.

    Tenable.sc deletes the user.