Tickets

Tickets can be created both manually and automatically by a predefined set of conditions through the alerting functionality described above.

For more information, see Open a Ticket.

Option Description
General

Name

Name assigned to the ticket.

Description

Descriptive text for the ticket.

Notes

Notes for the ticket assignee.

Assignee

User that the ticket is assigned to.

Note: If the ticket assignee is deleted, the ticket is automatically reassigned to the assignee’s owner along with a notification message indicating that the ticket has been reassigned.

Status (Available during edit)

The following ticket statuses become available after a ticket has been created and are available from the Edit Ticket page:

  • Assigned
  • Resolved
  • More Information
  • Not Applicable
  • Duplicate
  • Closed

Classification

The ticket classification: Information, Configuration, Patch, Disable, Firewall, Schedule, IDS, Accept Risk, Recast Risk, Re-scan Request, False Positive, System Probe, External Probe, Investigation Needed, Compromised System, Virus Incident, Bad Credentials, Unauthorized Software, Unauthorized System, Unauthorized User, and Other.

Query Views

Add Query View

Click to choose a query for the ticket assignee to help provide context for coming up with a resolution.

In addition to adding and editing tickets, a Browse command button is available. This option enables the user to view the vulnerability snapshot added during ticket creation. The displayed view matches the query that was used by the ticket.

To view details about an existing ticket, click the ticket to bring up the edit ticket page, use the Edit option from the menu to view options that were set during the Add Ticket process or use the View option from the actions menu to view a Ticket Detail summary with the name, status, creator, assignee, history, queries, description, and ticket notes.

Once a ticket has been mitigated, click Resolve from the actions menu to provide a ticket resolution.

Once the ticket is resolved, click Close from the actions menu.

Within the Status drop-down box, the user can select from one of these status options: Assigned, Resolved, More Information, Duplicate, or Not Applicable. Choose the correct status and add notes relevant to the ticket resolution. Resolved tickets still show up in the user’s ticket queue with an Active status. Closing a ticket removes the ticket from the Active status filter view, but does not provide the ability to add notes similar to the Update Ticket function. Tickets in the Resolved or Closed state can always be reopened as needed.