Recently Viewed Topics
Consider the following frequently asked questions when planning your upgrade.
Currently, the upgrade assistant is only available for Nessus Professional 7.1.0. For more information about local machine, Nessus, and Tenable.io requirements, see Requirements.
Everything except user passwords and scan results are migrated. For more information, see Upgraded Data.
No. All the data outlined in Upgraded Data is automatically transferred to your instance of Tenable.io.
Tenable™ recommends backing up Nessus regularly as a deployment best practice, but the upgrade assistant does not remove any data from Nessus Professional. Your Nessus Professional deployment continues running as configured.
After you upgrade from Nessus to Tenable.io, Nessus becomes a managed scanner. You can no longer use that instance of Nessus as a standalone scanner, but you can log in and see scan history for the upgraded scans.
Tenable™ recommends running the upgrade assistant only once, from your existing Nessus deployment to a Tenable.io instance. Once you upgrade your data from Nessus to Tenable.io, Nessus becomes a managed scanner, so the option to upgrade again is no longer available.
The upgrade assistant is currently only available via the Nessus Professional user interface.
Upgrade time varies depending on the number and complexity of your scan policies.