Delete a Tenable MSSP User
Required User Role: Administrator
Before you delete a user account, you must first disable the user account.
Caution: Once you delete a user account, the account cannot be recovered and the action cannot be reversed.
The following table describes what objects are migrated, retained, or permanently deleted upon user deletion:
|Scan Schedules||No||Migrated to the new object owner|
Historical Scan Results
|No||Migrated to the new object owner|
|Scan Templates||No||Migrated to the new object owner|
|Custom Dashboards/Widgets||Yes||Permanently deleted|
|Managed Credentials||No||Retained (Created By value displays as null)|
|Tags||No||Retained (Created By value displays as null)|
|Recast/Accept Rules||No||Retained (Owner value displays as Unknown User)|
|System Target Groups||No||Retained|
|User Target Groups||Yes||Permanently deleted|
|Saved Searches||Yes||Permanently deleted|
To delete a user account in the new interface:
In the upper-left corner, click the button.
The left navigation plane appears.
In the left navigation plane, click Settings.
The Settings page appears.
- Click the Users tile.
The Users page appears. This page contains a table that lists all users for your Tenable MSSP instance.
- On the Users page, in the users table, in the row of the user you want to delete, click the button.
A menu appears.
Note: If a user is not disabled, then the button does not appear. Disable the user before deleting them.
The delete plane appears.
- In the the Select New Object Owner drop-down box, select the user to which you want to transfer any of the user's objects (e.g., scans, user-defined templates).
- Click Delete.
A confirmation message appears.
- Click Delete.
Tenable MSSP deletes the user and transfers any user objects to the user you designated.