Delete a User

Required User Role: Administrator or organizational user with appropriate permissions. For more information, see User Roles.

If you want to migrate a user's objects, you must use a Security Manager account in the user's organization to delete the user. Other roles cannot migrate user objects.

Note: You cannot delete the first user created in any of your organizations. For more information, contact Tenable Support.

Note: If you want to delete an administrator user with linked user accounts, you must delete the linked accounts associated with the administrator before deleting the administrator, as described in Delete a Linked User Account. For more information about linked user accounts, see Linked User Accounts.

Note: If you want to delete a Tenable.sc user that was created via user provisioning, delete the user from your SAML identity provider. If you delete a user in Tenable.sc that was created via user provisioning without deleting the user in your SAML identity provider, Tenable.sc automatically re-creates the user in Tenable.sc the next time they log in using your SAML identity provider. For more information, see SAML User Provisioning.

To delete a user:

  1. Log in to Tenable.sc via the user interface.

  2. Click System > Users (administrator users) or Users > Users (organizational users).

    The Users page appears.

  3. In the row for the user you want to delete, click the actions menu.

    The actions menu appears.

  4. Click Delete.

    A confirmation window appears.

  5. (Optional) If you want to migrate the user's objects, click the toggle to migrate the user's objects to another user. Tenable.sc supports migrating:

    • Active scans, agent scans, and scan results
    • Custom assets, credentials, audit files, and scan policies
    • Blackout windows
    • Queries
    • Tickets and alerts
    • ARCs
    • Dashboards
    • Reports, report images, report attributes, and report results

    If you do not migrate the user's objects, Tenable.sc deletes the user's objects.

    Note: You cannot migrate objects when deleting an Administrator user because all Administrator-created objects are shared across Tenable.sc and remain accessible after user deletion.

  6. Click Delete.

    Tenable.sc deletes the user.