Reset Registration and Erase Settings

To reset the registration information, shut down the nessusd service first. Next, run the nessuscli fix --reset command. You will be prompted for confirmation.

If you have not shut down the nessusd service, the nessuscli fix --reset command will exit.

Note: Performing nessuscli fix --reset does not reset the managed function.

# /sbin/service nessusd stop

# /opt/nessus/sbin/nessuscli fix --reset

Resetting Nessus configuration will permanently erase all your settings and cause Nessus to become unregistered.

Do you want to proceed? (y/n) [n]: y

Successfully reset Nessus configuration.

Perform a Full Reset

Caution: Performing a full reset deletes all scans, scan data, policies, users and user settings, preferences and settings, registration information, and the master password. Contact Tenable Support before performing a full reset. This action cannot be undone.

To perform a full reset, shut down the nessusd service first. Next, run the nessuscli fix --reset-all command. You will be prompted for confirmation.

# /sbin/service nessusd stop

# /opt/nessus/sbin/nessuscli fix --reset-all

WARNING: This option will reset Nessus to a fresh state, permanently erasing the following:

* All scans, scan data, and policies

* All users and any user settings

* All preferences and settings

* Registration information (Nessus will become unregistered)

* Master password for this Nessus installation, if there is one

Are you sure you want to proceed? (y/n) [n]: