Custom Roles

This section and the topics in it describe the performance of and functionality for a new feature in Tenable.io Key Enhancements. For more information, see Tenable.io Key Enhancements.

You can create custom roles for users on your Tenable.io instance to give those users privileges that are specific to your organization's needs.

When you create a custom role, you can add all or some of the following privileges. You can also edit a custom role to remove privileges. Which privileges you can add to or remove from a role depend on the area of Tenable.io where each privilege applies.

Note: A user's access to resources on the account may be limited by their permissions, regardless of their role.

  • Create — Allows the user to create a new item in the area where the privilege applies.

  • Read — Allows the user to view items in the area where the privilege applies.

  • Update — Allows the user to modify items in the area where the privilege applies.

  • Manage — Allows the user to create, modify, and delete in the area where the privilege applies.

    Note: When you add the Manage privilege to a custom role, Tenable.io automatically adds the Read privilege as well. You cannot disable the Read privilege unless you first disable the Manage privilege.

  • Share — Allows the user to share dashboards with other users or groups. This privilege is specific to dashboards.

  • Delete — Allows the user to delete items in the area where the privilege applies.

The following table describes the privilege options available for custom roles in different sections of Tenable.io.

Note: When you create a custom role, you must include Read privileges for the General Settings, License, and My Account sections. If you do not include Read privileges for these sections, users assigned to the role cannot log in to Tenable.io.

Section Privilege Options
Account
Access Control

Create, Delete, Read, Update

General Setting Read, Update
Activity Log Read
Dashboard Manage, Share

Note: Custom role privileges in the Dashboards section do not include the ability to export a dashboard. You must assign a user the Administrator role if you want the user to be able to export dashboards. For more information, see Tenable-Provided Roles.

Note: All users can view the dashboards they create or that others share with them regardless of the privileges you assign to them.

License Read
My Account Read, Update
Workspaces
Asset Read
Finding Read